Thackery and Shinde factions of the Shiv Sena have been rechristened

Mumbai/New Delhi: The Election Commission on Monday decided new names and symbols for the two factions of the erstwhile Shiv Sena, which split into Chief Minister Eknath Shinde’s group and former Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray’s group.

The Thackery group was accordingly given the name Shiv Sena-Uddhav Balasaheb Thackery and given a new symbol of a flaming torch.

Similarly, Shinde’s splinter group has been allotted the identity of ‘Balasahebanchi Shiv Sena’ and has been ordered to submit new symbol options by 10 am on Tuesday.

The development came two days after the ECI froze the name of the Shiv Sena and its iconic bow and arrow symbol ahead of the upcoming by-elections in the Andheri East constituency.

Shiv Sena-UBT deputy leader Sushma Anheri welcomed the EC’s decision and said that no one needs an introduction to Balasaheb Thackery’s Shiv Sena, which is now led by Uddhav Balasaheb Thackery.

Sena-UBT South Mumbai MP Arvind Sawant also welcomed the move and said Uddhav Thackeray was the “face of the party” and accused the Shinde faction of “stealing everything, the party, the symbols, the Thackeray family etc.” ”, but now the EC decision has cleared the air.

Other Shiv Sena-UBT leaders like Kishore Tiwari, Kishori Pednekar also gave a warm welcome to the party’s new credentials and brand new symbol.

The ECI rejected the symbols – trident and mace – requested by the two factions on the grounds that they had religious connotations.

Balasahebanchi Shiv Sena spokesperson Sheetal Mhatre said these were temporary arrangements till the assembly elections and the Shinde group would get the original name and symbol later.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *