West Indies announce T20 World Cup squad, Evin Lewis returns cricket news

Cricket West Indies (CWI) on Wednesday announced the squad for the upcoming International Cricket Council (ICC) Men’s T20 World Cup, which will take place between October and November this year. The jury has confirmed fifteen (15) players who will represent the West Indies for the eighth ICC T20 World Cup, which will be played in Australia from 16 October to 13 November. The West Indies are the only team to have won the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. Cup twice, in 2012 in Sri Lanka and in 2016 in India. The West Indies campaign to win an unprecedented third ICC Men’s T20 World Cup title will begin on 17 October, when they face Scotland in the first of three Group B games played. Qualify for the Super 12 stage of the Bellerive Oval tournament in Hobart, Tasmania.

Nicholas Pooran leads the West Indies to their first World Cup as captain Rowman Powell as vice captain. Left opener Evin Lewis has been called up for the first time since the 2021 ICC T20 World Cup.

Two unlimited players have been selected; Yannick Karia, the right arm of the right arm, the versatile drummer Yannick Karia and the left arm drummer, the versatile ramen ripper,

CWI head coach Dr Desmond Haynes said in a statement, “We have selected a mix of youth and experience to represent the West Indies. In the selection process, we are aware of the current Caribbean Premier League (CPL) and have been looking for players who play very well. At the beginning of my tenure I said that I would be interested in giving opportunities to players and I think I have been consistent in doing so. I think it is a very good team that we have been selected, and it is a team that will compete, as we have to qualify for the Super r12 from Round 1.

There are players who have not entered the team and I hope they continue to work hard and give their best in CPL and in the next Super 50 Cup, because you never know what could happen in the event of an injury or other unforeseen event. We may have to bring in players as substitutes, “he added.

The West Indies will face Zimbabwe on 19 October and then Ireland on 21 October, with the top two teams in Group B competing in the Super 12, as well as the top two teams in Group A which include Sri Lanka, the United Arab Emirates, Netherlands. and Namibia. They are included. , The top two teams from each Super 12 group will advance to the semi-finals from 9 to 10 November.


Ahead of the start of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, the West Indies will face Australia’s home team in a two-game T20 International (T20I) bilateral series at Gold Coast’s Metricon Stadium on 5 October and historic Gabba on October 7. . , in Brisbane.

T20 World Cup Team: Nicholas Pooran (c), Rovman Powell, Yannick Kariah, johnson charles, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Aqeel Hossein, Alzarri Joseph Brandon King, Evin Lewis, Kyle MeyersObed McCoy, Raymond Reifer, Odeon Smith,

Topics covered in this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *