Netflix is ​​rolling out a new ‘Profile Transfer’ feature to prevent password sharing

San Francisco: Popular streaming platform Netflix has announced the ‘Profile Transfer’ feature to prevent password sharing, which has been rolled out to all members globally.

The “highly desired” feature allows users to transfer their personalized recommendations, watch history, My List, saved games and other preferences to a new account when they start their own membership, the company said.

Users will receive an email notification as soon as “Profile Transfer” is available in their account.

Meanwhile, in an effort to introduce an ad-supported tier for its users, the company announced that it will launch the “Ad-supported” streaming plan on November 3 in several countries.

“The plan represents an exciting opportunity for advertisers – a chance to reach a diverse audience, including younger viewers who increasingly don’t watch linear TV, in a premium environment with a seamless high-definition ad experience,” Greg Peters, COO director director and chief product officer, it said in a statement.

At launch, the ads will be 15 or 30 seconds long, playing before and during shows and movies.

“Advertisers will also be able to prevent their ads from appearing on content that may be inconsistent with their brand,” the company said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *