Mahmudullah out of Bangladesh T20 squad

Bangladesh excluded seasoned hitter Mahmudullah from their 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup in Australia.

The player with the most appearances from Bangladesh and the highest number of wins in the format is not part of the one-year plan set by technical advisor Sridharan Sriram, said head sorter Minhajul Abedin.

“Regarding Mahmudullah, he gave us many good memories,” said Abedin after announcing the team.

“We are moving forward keeping in mind the one-year plan that our current technical advisor gave us.

“As a result, Mahmudullah was kept out with everyone’s consent after discussions with team management.”

Mahmudullah scored 25 and 27 in the two Asian Cup matches recently concluded against Afghanistan and Sri Lanka.

He scored those points with a poor hit rate that didn’t satisfy team management, team director Khaled Mahmud said a day before the team’s announcement.

“He is our oldest player and has played some good shots in the past, but he couldn’t do what we expected of him during the Asian Cup,” said Mahmud.

Anamul Haque Bijoy, Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Naim and Parvez Hossain, who played in the Asian Cup, were eliminated along with Mahmudullah.

Another veteran, Mushfiqur, retired from the T20 format after the Asian Cup.

Opener Liton Das, wicketkeeper / batsman Nurul Hasan Sohan and pacer Hasan Mahmud were included after recovering from injuries.

Bangladesh also included Yasir Ali Chowdhury and Najmul Hossain Shanto as technical advisor Sriram put the emphasis on impact rather than performance.

“Bangladesh will win if seven or eight players make an impact,” Sriram said.

“A 30 or 25 in 17-18 balls for me is an impact. A small example of this is how Mosaddek chased Wanindu Hasaranga over after Mahmudullah came out (during the Asian Cup), that’s the impact.

“I think performance is overrated in T20 cricket.”

The squad of Bangladesh for the T20 World Cup: Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Nurul Hasan Sohan (vice-captain), Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Liton Das, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Hasan Mahmud, Nasum Ahmed, Najmul Hossain.

Stand by: Shoriful Islam, Rishad Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Soumya Sarkar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *