India moved to the top of the Group 2 table with a massive 56-match win over the Netherlands

Sydney: India returned to the top of the Group 2 points table with an impressive 56-run win over Netherlands in their Super 12 Men’s World T20 match at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Wednesday.

After captain Rohit Sharma (53), Virat Kohli (62 not out) and Suryakumar Yadav (51 not out) hit half-centuries to push India to a challenging 179/2, India produced a top-class bowling performance to restrict Netherlands to 123/9 in 20 overs.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar led India’s tight start in the Power-play with his two overs that didn’t lead to any runs and the bowling of Vikramjit Singh in the third over. Max O’Dowd started with well-measured square shots from Arshdeep Singh to get a pair of fours and bowled Mohammed Shami over square leg for his third four.

His promising stint at the crease ended when, in an attempt to sweep, he moved and exposed his stumps, only for Axar Patel to rattle his middle stump with a straight hit. Patel had another wicket when he got Bass de Leede to reach the outside of the ball and steer it straight to point.

Ravichandran Ashwin struck a double in the 13th over — Colin Ackerman retreated to deep mid-wicket and four balls later, Tom Cooper straight to deep square leg in the space of four balls.

Tim Pringle hit a cameo of 20 off 15 balls, sending Ashwin over long-on for six and dropping Arshdeep for four. But Shami got a lead from his shot and was caught in the middle of the attack.

In the next over, Bhuvneshwar added another wicket to his name when captain Scott Edwards miscued a slower ball to mid-off. Arshdeep joined the wicket-taking column when Logan van Beek was late to pull a bouncer and was caught behind.

He finished the 18th by catching Fred Klaassen lbw with a fantastic yorker and got DRS in his favour. Although Arshdeep was hit by Paul van Meekeren for a hat-trick of fours in the last three balls of the innings, the result was a foregone conclusion by then.

Brief scores: India 179/2 in 20 overs (Virat Kohli 62 not out, Rohit Sharma 53; Paul van Meekeren 1/32, Fred Klaassen 1/33) beat Netherlands (Tim Pringle 20, Colin Ackerman 17; Bhuvneshwar Kumar 2/9 , Axar Patel 2/18) with 56 runs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *