Ashok Kumar Parija takes over as Chancellor of KIIT-DU

Bhubaneswar: Senior Advocate and Advocate General of Odisha Sri Ashok Kumar Parija joined as the new Chancellor of KIIT Deemed University on 29th September 2022. Sri Parija took over the charge of the office from Professor Ved Prakash after his tenure ended. He was welcomed by Dr. Achutha Samantha, Founder, KIIT & KISS, in the presence of Prof. SK Acharya, Pro-Chancellor, KIIT-DU; Prof. Sasmita Samantha, Vice-Chancellor; Prof. Deepak Behera, VC, KISS DU; Prof. Saranjit Singh, Pro-VC; Dr. CBK Mohanty, Pro-VC; Prof. Jnyana Ranjan Mohanty, Secretary, and other senior officials of KIIT-DU.

After the tenure of Chancellor Prof. Ved Prakash ended on 10 August 2022, the KIIT body elected Shri Paria as the Chancellor. As the Chancellor is an honorary post, this will not interfere with his work as Solicitor General.

Shri Ashok Kumar Pariya is among the most respected lawyers of the country with a long distinguished service spanning over 38 years. He was appointed as a Senior Advocate by the Orissa High Court in 2003 and was appointed as the Advocate General by the Government of Odisha in 2019. He was the Chairman of the Bar Council of India in 2011, the apex regulatory body for the legal profession and education and took several steps to improve legal education in India.

Welcoming Sri Parija, Dr. Samantha said, “Sri Parija is a famous Odia personality. In his capacity as chancellor, Sri Paria will advise the university for the next five years. KIIT Deemed to be University will continue its journey towards educational, research and all-round excellence with renewed vigor under the able leadership of Shri Paria”.

The post of Chancellor of KIIT-DU has been held by many eminent personalities and academicians since its inception. Earlier, Prof. Hari Gautam, former chairman of UGC; Prof. NL Mitra, eminent legal academician; and Prof. Ved Prakash, former UGC Chairman, were the chancellors of KIIT-DU.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *