Afghanistan bat first against Sri Lanka

Afghanistan won the draw and will be first to serve in the T20 World Cup clash against Sri Lanka in cloudy conditions at the Gabba.

It’s an unmissable match for the two desperate teams who need wins in their last two Super 12 games and are hoping for more results to secure a place in the semi-finals.

As it rained in Brisbane on Tuesday morning, the sky cleared after lunch and forecasts suggest that a full game should go on without a break in time.

This is good news for both teams who have been frustrated with eliminations in previous matches.

Sri Lankan skipper Dasun Shakara admitted he would also have chosen to strike first on a pitch that was used on Monday night, but his team remains confident he has his life left for the tournament.

Afghanistan is counting on its leader Mujeeb Zadran to produce with the ball at the Gabba, where he was a key figure for the Brisbane Heat in the BBL.

Sri Lanka: Dasan Shanaka (captain), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya Silva, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapakse, Waninundu Hasaranga, Pramod Madushan, Maheesh Theekshana, Lahiru Kumara, Kasun Rajitha.

Afghanistan: Mohammad Nabi (captain), Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Usman Ghani, Ibrahim Zadran, Gulbadin Naib, Najib Zadran, Azmat Omarazi, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Zadran, Farid Malik, Fazalhaq Farooqi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *